Where you work:

My office is currently in the Medical Education Building, which was the old Psychopathic Hospital before the department’s clinical services were moved over to the John Pappajohn Pavilion at UIHC (outpatient psychiatric services in 1989 and inpatient services in 1990). My research projects are centered in the MEB.

Typical day in your shoes:

A typical day involves interacting with my research team. I have four local team members, but all my projects have a national component and there is frequent interaction with my colleagues across the country, as well. Also, on rare occasions, I will work in the child psychiatry outpatient clinic to help cover absences from assigned faculty members.

What’s your favorite part of being a psychiatrist?

This is a particularly hard question answer based on the fact that I was first appointed as a faculty member in child and adolescent psychiatry back in 1983. I have had many positions within the department as well as in the Carver College of Medicine. Highlights include being the overall general psychiatry training director from 1983 through 1989, director of the Division of Child Psychiatry from 1989 through 2017, serving on the Carver College of Medicine Admission Board from 1990-1995 with subsequent appointment to be chairman of the committee from 1995-1998, and being involved in various research projects, several of which have gone on from 1989 to the present time. However, if I had to narrow it down, I believe interacting with resident and medical trainees both through clinical, as well as didactic, teaching. I am proud of the three yearly recognitions for my teaching by the child and adolescent psychiatry trainees and, a couple of years ago, the annual faculty teaching Award in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry being named after me. Finally, one of my favorite times of the year is during the holiday season when I receive emails and letters from former trainees telling me about their accomplishments over the past year.

Favorite vacation experience/ destination:

Again, there are many choices. When my children were growing up, we would go on the typical family vacations and would say that going to Steamboat Springs, Colorado and hiking in that area as well as going to Washington DC bring back very pleasant memories. Currently, my annual bicycle trip with my close friends is something I greatly look forward to in the late summer/early fall. A group of six of us have been doing this now for well over 30 years and we go to various places in the Midwest.

What actor/actress would you want to play you in the movie about your life?

If I had to choose an actor to portray me in my life at this time, I would probably pick Mark Harmon or David McCollum (if he were still alive) just because they are both smart, analytical, and driven.

Favorite TV show:

is the original NCIS. This was something my wife and I have watched since it began in 2003. Other favorite shows include watching various sporting events including Wimbledon, the Tour de France, and Hawkeye sports.

What’s one thing that can instantly make your day better?

I really am a people person. I greatly enjoyed hearing from former patients or former trainees. It makes my day to hear that I was able to help these individuals make their lives better.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.